Testing 1, 2, 3

Okay. I’m just going to come right out and admit it: I am a music junkie. Plain and simple. Always have been and (hopefully) always will be. One of my favorite past times is to throw on some  song or artist that you have just got to know about and then spend so much time talking about the lyrics, the sound, the back story on the band, and the memories that it invokes in me, that you won’t even hear half the song I so desperately wanted you to listen to in the first place.  I pick up music trivia like nobody’s business and somehow missed my calling as a music historian. If you get me started, I can go for hours. I love music, but more importantly I love talking about it. So much so that my sweet, encouraging (and possibly burnt out) husband said, “Why don’t you write a blog about it?” And so here I am, ready to lecture the world on why the Beatles were not only transcendent, but one of the foundations of my childhood.

This does not mean I’m a hipster. For one thing, I think the hipsters would just laugh at me if I claimed to be one of them. My knowledge is pretty good (in certain areas) and I am always on the lookout for something new. But I don’t have to be the first one to discover a great song that only a few people will bother with. This also doesn’t mean that I am a music snob. In my younger and more opinionated (read: whiny) days, I earned that title with interest. Ask anyone who was close to me in high school and they wouldn’t hesitate to tell you about how I groaned and winced every time they played that Garth Brooks song… again.

These days I try to be much more open to the possibilities. I’ll give anything a listen at least once. I missed out on so much great music as a picky teenager that I try to make up for it now. But in the end, there are genres I favor and some that I do not. And while I will try to present a wide variety on this blog, in the end it is my blog. If I don’t care for it, I probably won’t spend much time on it.

What I will spend time on here is talking about the amazing music that keeps my life in motion–my personal soundtrack.  I will use this space to share what I’m currently listening to, post reviews of albums and artists both old and new, and explore what makes my brain go pop every time I turn on the radio.

Currently listening to:

Deadmau5 – 4×4=12

Leave a Reply

