Good and stuck

Close your eyes and clear your mind. Mute that television program that (let’s be honest) you’re only half watching in the background. Walk away from the day you had at work. Tune out all noise, including your significant other venting about their boss, your kids whining for their dinner, and your pets begging for their walk. Now stop thinking about those dirty dishes waiting for you in the sink and that laundry that needs to be folded. Set it all aside for just a moment. Now take a deep breath. And another. Good. Now listen…

What song is running through your head right now?

Come on, you and I both know that there’s something lurking in the background of your brain. So confess! For all I know, it could be a jingle for a beer commercial. But there is something there and I’m willing to bet that if you’re anything like me, then it’s a song.

The song I’ve had running through my head today is If You Wanna by The Vaccines. They’re an English Indie band from London that has recently been making headway in the UK and I can’t –and frankly don’t want to–get them out of my mind. They’re still trying to make headway here in the states, so you may or may not have heard of them, but I think they’ll hit their stride soon. Their first American single, Post Break-Up Sex, kinda passed me by without much notice (although if you love Morrissey, you might want to look it up). But for some reason I recently seem to have latched on to their second single in a major way. Maybe it is because it has such an up-beat and bubbly feel to it that it makes you want to bounce along to it in the car while singing loudly? Maybe it is because the lead singer, Justin Young, sounds remarkably like Mark Hoppus from Blink-182 who also have a new album out now? Or maybe it is because it has the catchiest chorus in the history of the world?!?! Well whatever the reason, it seems to have securely lodged itself in my psyche. And honestly I couldn’t be happier about it!

Leave a Reply

