Ukuleles = festive

I’m just going to come right out and say it. This week is kicking my butt. Between evergreen trees, shopping, wrapping gifts, waiting in long lines with armfuls of packages, cleaning, and preparing for a very much-anticipated house guest, I am pooped. This list doesn’t even include the cookies I meant to make for my staff meeting today or the prep for two upcoming brunches that I am hosting–one just for kicks with some friends to do a test run of my aebleskiver technique and the second for family. For those not in the know, aebleskivers are little round Danish pancakes that are spherical in shape and spiced with cardamom. I’d just like to note that my family has made them for decades and they are hollow! I have no idea  why every other reference to them I can find says they are solid. The stubborn part of me thinks everyone else is just plain wrong, including the entire country of Denmark(!), but it was probably some change an ancestor of mine made to the cooking instructions. (There, now the Danish government won’t declare war on Charm City over my inflammatory aebleskiver remarks.) Needless to say, I’m feeling a little worn. But for all the stress, I truly love this time of year. If I could just sit in my dark living room with my lit Christmas tree for the next week, I’d be a happy camper.

All this hustle and bustle has got me in mind of one of my very favorite Christmas songs called (There’s No Place Like) Home for the Holidays. I grew up listening to the Perry Como version, complete with back-up choir and orchestral arrangement, but apparently The Carpenters recorded it in the late 1970s. There’s this wonderful lyric that goes, “From Atlantic to Pacific – Gee, the traffic is terrific!” This has become a family saying and is usually whipped out during every single traffic jam or parking lot incursion that is observed, endured, or survived from Thanksgiving clear to New Years.

So tonight I have dug up two versions of this classic. The first one is with Perry Como’s melodious voice and theatrical accompaniment (it positively screams Broadway musical). The second is this cute guy singing in a very nice bass voice and playing the ukulele. It is adorable. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

