Whatever gets you through the night

Holy smokes! My life currently resembles a working case study in insanity. It feels like I am swimming upstream these days with a whole laundry list of stuff to tackle trailing behind me, which somehow never seems to get any shorter. Between taking on a load of extra responsibilities at work, prepping for 2 plane trips and 1 road trip, staring down the barrel of another birthday, valiantly (read: vainly) trying to get/keep my house clean, and desperately trying to find time to write, I am beat. And with the changing of the seasons literally happening as I type, I know that if I am not careful, I could have a really bad Fall… and don’t even get me started on the upcoming holiday season. It doesn’t even bear contemplating. *sigh*

What can I do but keep moving? For now at least, it is full steam ahead around here and in light of this I would like to present to you a little playlist. I think I’m going to call it my Holy Crap! Mix. If it has a frenetic beat and some unstoppable energy–mixed liberally with a sense of desperation–then it belongs here. Please enjoy!

Whatever Gets You Through the Night, John Lennon

(Probably the closest thing to disco he ever did, but don’t be discouraged!)

Excuse Me Mr., No Doubt

(My very favorite. Gwen Stefani will mess you up!)

I Hear Noises, Tegan and Sara

(From my favorite Canadian twins. When I am frustrated and tired, I literally can’t play this song loud enough. )

Forever Yellow Skies, The Cranberries (Live in Detroit, 1996)

(Blistering guitars and drums not withstanding, just watch lead singer Dolores O’Riordan’s blur of an arm as she plays rhythm guitar.)

Paper Romance, Groove Armada

(Rather awkward video, but amazing song.)

Out of My Head, The Black Eyed Peas

(The moment I hear that base line, I literally breathe a sign of relief. Best sonic release valve I know.)

This is a list destined to grow. If you have any suggestions for additions, please drop me a comment and let me know.

2 responses to “Whatever gets you through the night

  1. Not knowing exactly where you’re posting from, I’m guessing there’s a few hours lag between your time zone and mine. I’m not generally up at this time (03.30 in the UK) but today I am and listening to that most singular – and currently defunct – of British bands, Cardiacs. Seeing how eclectic your taste is; who knows, you might dig this shit as much as I do:

    Sleep well and live happy, Krezgirl.

    • I’m on the US east coast, so this was kind of a late night post for me.

      Hmm… I have to say that I love the wailing guitars. They’ve got some great bass lines. I’m not familiar with these guys, but the lead’s voice sounds so familiar. Strange and dark, but appealing.

      Thanks for helping with my music education, Guls. It’s always something new with you, but you have got some good taste. 🙂

Leave a Reply

