Perspective

I don’t even know where to begin. The last two weeks have been my best and worst weeks of 2012–specifically in that order. I got to spend several days in my hometown, watching people I love get married, bonding with my family, and climbing mountains (literally!). It was the best, most gratifying, and least dramatic visit home I have had since leaving the desert in 2007. And it was all shot to hell within an hour of landing back in Charm City… the less said about it the better, but practically everyone I know in this town is currently trying to get their feet back under them again–a process which is still in progress. (How’s that for vaguely ominous? Pretty good, huh?)

Well since the bomb dropped, I’ve been trying to collect my brain cells while watching the dust settle. Things will get better, I know they will. It’s just that sometimes it feels like the extreme juxtaposition of wonderful and devastating has made this new reality that much harder for me to take.  But–as I’ve been repeating to myself a lot lately–it is what it is.

So I’ve been spending the last several days striving  to keep my perspective in all of this. It hasn’t been particularly easy, but (as usual) it got a bit easier when I stumbled upon my current theme song. If you’ve been around the last year and have been paying attention, you know that I change them quite often. And my latest addition to that illustrious list is It’s Nice to be Alive by Ball Park Music. Courtesy of this adorable little indie rock group from Brisbane, Australia, with a lead singer who looks remarkably like a teenaged David Tennant, the song shows a refreshingly innocent sense of humor in both the video and their lyrics. Somehow they manage to keep things light in what could have been a rather existential song, proclaiming “You are alive! Isn’t that great?!”

So here’s your daily dose of perspective, folks. Please enjoy!

It’s Nice to be Alive by Ball Park Music

One response to “Perspective

  1. Nice tune! And you’re not wrong about the David Tennant resemblance – spooky! Good to see you posting again – it’s been a little while – and I hope that whatever drama has been unfolding resolves itself soon. Take care, Andy.

    p.s. If we’re talking theme songs, then this has been pretty much a staple of mine for the last, oh, forever – I can’t stop playing it and every time I do I just wanna get up and bounce around the room:

Leave a Reply

